Tags

, , , ,

When I woke up this morning, I didn’t know how to do icing roses. And look at me now:

20120526-181605.jpg
All I had to do was search YouTube for a tutorial on how to do icing roses, and BAM! Two minutes later I was doing a trial run on a piece of wax paper and everything was “coming up roses”!

I don’t know why I didn’t think of this ages ago. I mean, it’s not like it’s the first cake decorating technique I learned off a YouTube video. Last summer I learned the basketweave technique and used it on a special birthday cake for a friend’s mother’s 60th birthday.

20120526-182409.jpg

That’s it! It takes a milestone birthday! These cupcakes are for a colleague’s grandmother’s 100th birthday party tomorrow. (Not sure 100 qualifies as a milestone…maybe more like a light-year stone…). Vanilla cupcakes with vanilla buttercream and sparkly sugar. Ultra-special cupcakes for an ultra-special lady who loves pink roses.

PS- I used a NEW cupcake recipe today. Usually use the Magnolia Bakery cookbook, but today tried the Hummingbird Bakery one.

20120526-184432.jpg

The recipe measurements are such that it makes EXACTLY 12 perfectly sized cupcakes. No leftovers. Mixed feelings.

 

