Tags

, , , ,

Lately I have become intrigued with the idea of vegan baking. This is largely due to my equally recent obsession with two blogs: Chocolate Covered Katie and Oh She Glows

The interest doesn’t stem so much from the ethical viewpoint (cause oh man, do I love me some pig products!) of veganism, but moreso the healthy aspects of it. Not to mention of course just simply expanding my culinary repetoire.

Earlier this evening I tried a healthy jam recipe idea from Oh She Glows where chia seeds are used to thicken the jam, so that very little sweetener is needed, and no pectin.

20120710-232950.jpg
Her recipe called for blueberries, but I used some black raspberries I got at the farmers market on Saturday morning. I can’t wait to go to sleep so I can wake up and have that jam. I am thinking some kind of nut butter is also going to make an appearance.

Well, of course that wasn’t the end of it. The vegan baking bug had bitten hard this evening and I decided to make some muffins too……

20120710-233418.jpg

Vegan Snickerdoodle Muffins!

20120710-233635.jpg
I got the hankering for these after seeing a post on Pinterest for Snickerdoodle Blondies. I figured I would take the principles I have learned about vegan baking and low fat baking and combine them into a healthy muffin. Applesauce in place of most of the butter (plus a bit of coconut oil for texture purposes), mashed banana in place of eggs, cut the sugar in half, and used some whole wheat flour to up the fiber. Here’s what I did:

Vegan Snickerdodle Muffins
In a medium bowl combine:
1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1 2/3 cup whole wheat flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
In a large bowl combine:
1 1/2 medium ripe bananas (mashed)
3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
4 Tbsp coconut oil (melted-ish)
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla

Combine dry into wet. Spray a muffin tin (I made 12 normal sized muffins, but
next time I think I will make mini ones!) with cooking spray. Portion out the batter evenly among the cups. Sprinkle generously with cinnamon sugar mixture (2 teaspoons each of white sugar and cinnamon should be all you need), and bake in a 350F degree oven until the muffins are risen and browning a bit, and an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
(Time will depend on what size of muffins you are making; my regular sized ones took about 20 mins I think…I am gonna be honest, I forgot to set the timer and just used my eyes….AND NOSE!)

20120710-235939.jpg
Is cinnamon-y a word?

